2016 Favorites: Songs, Classical Music, Books & Stuff

   2016 FAVORITES   –

Hello everyone and I am back! I’m sorry I didn’t had the chance to greet my readers (if there are any) here a Merry and Wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year because I’ve been really busy during the holiday season. Me and my family kept on going out so I didn’t had the time to write anything here. I was actually planning to post a few year-ender entries but unfortunately, my time was too short. But guys, I hope you all had a wonderful and blissful time celebrating Christmas and welcoming 2017 with your loved ones! and I hope you guys enjoyed the first week of January even though all of us are back to being busy with our jobs and with school, and stuff.

Well anyways, It’s never too late to write about the things I’ve loved last 2016 so I’ll be doing a simple year roundup featuring a few of my 2016 favorites!

. music;

Music is one of those things that kept me going during 2016. When I felt down, music cheered me up. When I wanted to escape for a little while, music was there to take me anywhere. When I wanted to dance, I listened to some upbeat songs at night and imagined myself dancing like no one’s watching.

I mostly listen to Korean songs ever since I liked kpop, like I totally didn’t listen to any American songs that much. But last 2016, my range of music preference became broad and my ears were opened to every genre. I have loved listening to some seasonal indie songs & playlists, classical music and American pop songs.

Kim Taeyeon – Why  (Song of my Year)

NCT 127 – Mad City  (my jam)

Jessica Jung – Wonderland  (LIT)

LANY – Pink Skies

Calvin Harris & Disciples – How Deep Is Your Love  (LIT)

Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez – We Don’t Talk Anymore

Darlene Zschech (ft Kari Jobe) – Yours Forever

Bugoy Drilon – One Day (Matisyahu) on Wish 107.5 

Up Dharma Down – Tadhana

More on my Playmoss playlist (click photo):

Classics:

Classical Music was and will always be a big help when I need to focus in studying or in doing my school works. As I read on the internet, listening to classical music can help you focus more on doing your tasks, and it will make you feel calm that would help you process more information.

So if you need to focus on your study, try to listen to some classics and see if it’s really effective 🙂 You can find many classics on Youtube or there may be a classical playlist on Spotify that you can listen to. But for the meantime, I’ll share you the top classical pieces that I absolutely loved this 2016 (click the note):

() Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – The Nutcracker Suite Op.71a  (Most fave!)

Favorite Tracks in The Nutcracker Suite:
() Dance Of The Sugarplum Fairy
() Waltz of the Flowers

() Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Swan Lake Suite Op. 20

() Dmitri Shostakovich – Waltz No. 2

. books;

Ever since school started in June, I haven’t found the right time to read novels again. But last Summer, I almost spent the whole break on reading some really good romance novels that totally had me head over heels. So here are my favorites reads in 2016:

▷  The Catastrophic History of You and Me

by Jess Rothenberg.

This love story was indeed catastrophic. I super love the concept of this novel, with all the dead thingy and past & present life. PLUS!!! It even has a song in every chapter that you can listen to while you’re reading, and they also listed all the songs at the end of the book! It’s incredibly adorable!

▷  A Thousand Boy Kisses 

by Tillie Colle.

TEARJERKER. JUST LIKE TFIOS. BUT TFIOS IS BETTER. BUT THIS IS GOOD TOO. IF YOU LOVE CRYING THEN READ THIS. THIS BOOK IS GOLD.

▷  November 9

by Colleen Hoover.

I’m actually surprised by how many plot twists this novel has, and these twists and turns made the whole story CRAZY BUT GOOD. You seriously won’t expect everything. CoHo impressed me with this one and I can’t wait to read more of her work!

▷  Confess

by Colleen Hoover.

Two of CoHo’s books that I’ve read so far (this and November 9) are so good! I both loved it! Though this is one of my favorites, I seem to have rated this novel 4 stars only in Goodreads (I mostly rate books 5 stars) because I wasn’t really satisfied with the story, but still, it made a hopeless romantic  XD so yeah I have to include this book here!

▷  Happy Again

by Jennifer Smith.

Jennifer E. Smith (my fave)  made me happy again with this sequel. This one is too good to be true!

I really love her novel ‘This Is What Happy Looks Like’ which I finished reading a year ago and I couldn’t get enough of Ellie and Graham. So when I found out about this sequel, I immediately read it and I was really happy to read the continuation of their interrupted love story.

This was such a cute short sequel and as expected, Jennifer Smith’s love stories never fails to make me happy and in love.
Note: I love Graham Larkin so much, I just wish he was real.

▷  Eleanor and Park

by Rainbow Rowell. 

If you guys read my life lately post, you’d know I’ve already read this. I also love this book but I was quite dismayed with the ending, I believe we deserve a better ending XD Nonetheless, I’m still waiting for the 2nd book and I’m going to have to read more of R.R.’s works.

(ohmygoodness I’m so bad at book reviews. I’m sorry)

I was in a reading slump in the past few months, so I didn’t got to read that much even though I have my reading list close to me. But, next summer, I’ll make sure I’ll be back on track again 😀 (I will also watch a lot of cheesy movies)

. stuff;

 

▷ Michaela Backpack.

Received this backpack as a gift from my Uncle on my 16th birthday and It’s been my go-to bag ever since, and it’s cute too.

▷ Cotton On Sweater.

I’ve always wanted a boyfriend sweater and I’ve been trying to find one on some thrift shops then lucky me… I found one for only P50 (that’s about $1)! It’s a comfy and cheap Cotton On sweater and I love it so much I can’t help myself but to wear it over and over again. I must say, the P50 is super duper worth it.

▷ My Olympus Camera.

I just had this camera unexpectedly last January or February 2016 (I guess) and it was my first ever! That time I was so desperate to start learning photography to the point that it made me really frustrated. And then one day, while I was doing some school stuffs, my brother came into the dining area holding a camera in his hands and I swear it was one of the best days ever.

Though I wanted a DSLR and I’ve never thought of having a compact digital camera, I still learned how to love my first baby

▷ Pinterest.

I can’t believe I still have the time to linger around Pinterest when I have a lot of things to finish. I’m in denial. I’m seriously addicted and I already have 37 public boards, 8 other private boards and 2.2k+ pins… I swear someone should stop me from pinning things REGULARLY, this is crazy.

▷ Watercolor & Brush.

I actually have this artistic side in me but it’s not evident. Well, I ‘kinda’ know the basics; I know how to draw, paint and color but it’s not worth looking at, to be extremely honest. When I was introduced to the world of brush lettering and calligraphy, I was immediately hooked to it, and so I said to myself that I have to learn how to do it. I started months ago and I’m still in the newbie stage, I haven’t mastered anything yet but things will be fine, eventually. I just have to continue practicing.

I have so many art (expensive) materials that I want to buy and use, but for now I’m just using the basic ones since I’m not that pro in doing such things. So I’m using Dong A’s Creative Watercolor (8 colors) that I borrowed from my sister but I think it’s mine already since she doesn’t even use it, and the brush that I’m using is from Best Buy, that I also borrowed from my sister, but I think it’s already mine too XD

▷ Fangirl Wants.

So I got myself three official merch — NCT U’s Ten SUM Photoset and Postcard Set, and also the only album that I bought this year, Tiffany’s I Just Wanna Dance! I’m not a rich fangirl so these are the only merchandise that I bought in 2016 to supply my fangirl needs, at least for a bit. It’s not obvious that I like NCT and Girls’ Generation right? hahaha as of now, I’m not trying to collect all of their cards, albums and whatnots because I’m still a student, and my allowance is not sufficient, so maybe I’ll collect when I already have a job. But for now, I’m happy with what have and with what I can purchase.

▷ Roadtrips and Foodtrips.

My family had a lot of road trips and food trips last year which made my 2016 the best, so far. Even though everyone in our family are quite busy with our own jobs and school, we still had enough time to go on trips and it was spectacular! I’m thankful to each and every bonding moments that I had spent with my family and I hope this 2017, we’ll have more trips and fun moments!

Time to wrap up this post once again, I’m so sorry if this is quite late, but I hope you guys liked this post, and also my playlist 😀 Anyways, I pray everyone to have a wealthier and healthier 2017! Take this year as a new chance to achieve your goals that you did not achieve last year or a new chance to make your life better. It’s definitely not a new beginning but a continuation, but this time, you must make the most out of everything.

Here’s to a happier new year! Have fun everyone 😀

 


How about you, what are your favorites last 2016? 

 

08

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Rose says:

    The bag and sweater are so nice!! Your camera looks so cool. These are good picks haha. ^_^

    Like

    1. Rossaine says:

      Agreed!!! Thank you Rose ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rose says:

        You’re welcome! ❤

        Like

  2. Elaine says:

    Taeyeon and Tiffany! ❤

    Like

    1. Rossaine says:

      Great artists ❤ Are you a fan? 🙂

      Like

      1. Rossaine says:

        same here! Girls’ Generation is my ultimate!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. About Bae says:

    I like how you were able to keep an active Pinterest account. I always end up ditching mine because it’s not my priority and when I go back to my boards, I already like different things. LOL.

    thebaeblogs.com

    Like

    1. Rossaine says:

      It’s hard to stay focused especially when your interests and priorities changes from time to time. I see pinterest as my vision board so when I have a lot of ideas, I tend to store it in pinterest!

      Like

  4. giraffeview says:

    I am basically in love with everything in this post (especially the music!) Great post 🙂 🙂

    Like

    1. Rossaine says:

      I’m happy that you liked everything, esp my music preference! 🙂 Thank you so much ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Da Dominguez says:

    Wow, a fan of classical music. That’s rare! I’m surprised I even recognize most of them because back in HS, our music teacher made us listen to a hundred songs and we should memorize the titles because it’s included in our practical exam. Haha. We hated it! But I learned to appreciate that kind of music eventually.

    Seeing those watercolors and calligraphy made me all giddy! I have this little callig project too called ecrire. I hope to see more of your works soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rossaine says:

      Good thing we didn’t have to listen to and memorize a hundred of classical songs when we were in junior high school hahaha we would fail our exam if that happened! I barely even know the titles of the classical songs that I listen to, but I appreciate every single one of it!
      Saw your project and omg I wish I could do calligraphy that well 😦 Keep doing your project!

      Like

Leave a Reply

